Skip to content

Ten Sweet Fall Recipes To Try

10.10.2011

Pinterest.com can become an even bigger time suck than Facebook, which is why this week I closed my FB account.  You know, so that I can devote more time to Pinterest!  (Kidding — I’m going to wrap up a long, messy reorganizing project that culminated in the purchase of some IKEA Hemnes bookcases for my living room, but I digress.)

Over the weekend, my kids and I baked the most delicious cake – just for fun!  It was Martha Stewart’s vanilla sheet cake with malted-milk-chocolate frosting, and it was divine.  I didn’t even attempt any high-altitude adjustments and the cake still rose perfectly and had a moist, dense-but-not-too-dense texture.  This is my new go-to scratch cake.  To be honest, I messed up the frosting.  The frosting recipe instructs you to let the milk chocolate cool after you’ve melted it, and I didn’t let it cool very long.  Fearful that my frosting would never set up, I added half a cup of powdered sugar.  The result was a kind of fudge-like, greasy chocolate frosting but it was still delicious on the cake even though the powdered sugar seems to have diminished the malted milk flavor.

At any rate, I subscribe to Michael Pollan’s theory that if you’re going to eat something that isn’t technically good for you, at least make it yourself.  I can’t remember the last time I deigned to buy Oreos!  Now that the weather is cooling off enough that I don’t feel guilty running the oven, there are some delicious-sounding (and looking — click the links for photos) recipes I’ve saved in my Pinterest account that I plan to try:

1.  Grandma Betty’s Caramel Apples

2.  Apple Cider Caramels

3. Baked Pumpkin Spice Doughnut Holes

4. Caramel Stuffed Apple Cider Cookies

5. Sweet Potato Whoopie Pies with Maple Marshmallow Creme

6. Candy and Caramel Apple Pie

7. Pumpkin Cupcakes with Salted Caramel Buttercream

8. Caramel Apple Pie Cupcakes

9. Pull-Apart Cinnamon Sugar Pumpkin Bread

10.  Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Plenty of time to test some of these as potential substitutes for traditional Thanksgiving desserts, now that I think about it.  I’m so OVER “traditional” holiday foods!  Also, this blog post brings sweet tidings for my friends, neighbors and 21-year old brother who can eat whatever he wants — I’m seven pounds away from losing the rest of my baby weight (!!!) and I can’t trust myself to keep sweets like these – a.k.a. kryptonite – leftover in my pantry!

No comments yet

Please feel free to reply! This is a "positive space" so I reserve the right to block snarky posts.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

